IFI7144 – task 13

And here comes the task. Think of one activity. It can be anything, from different fields, from your every day life, etc. How is it carried out now? Is it possible to redesign this activity to make its outcome more efficient, more reasonable? Is it possible to re-instrumentalise and re-organise it with the help of emerging digital technology?

One of my everyday activities that I would like to enhance and better is the way I address the study materials. Concerning the university studies we have been provided with a whole lot of information from various different sources. Firstly the gathering of the information is quite hard. One can use different feed programs to get the information needed to proceed with the tasks or just to bookmark the sources and go manually from there. Since I am not a fan of plain text that different RSS readers provide, I have been approaching the subjects and tasks by going through them, whenever I have time, one by one. This approach almost always means that I get stuck on a subject that needs my attention and than I try to provide it to the task at and. This straightforward approach keeps the one subject in my focus and unfortunately makes everything else secondary. When the subject or task is completed, I have time to concentrate my attention on other tasks but as it happens, the deadlines might have already passed by that time.

Of course, there are programs and assistants that can be used, in order to meet certain deadlines simultaneously, but I have not become familiar with them yet. The second thing, I would point out when going through interactive and mostly web based subjects, it is quite important to have mobile means to address the courses. By that I mean laptops, smartphones e.t.c. And of course, I have none of those. So as far as re-instrumentalizing goes, it should be a first step to obtain a mobile device to keep myself up to date with different dates and deadlines. Of course the device would provide the means to fulfil the tasks anywhere.

Efficiency could also be risen by communicating with the texts and information on a more personal level. Reading a 20 paged document from a computer screen, for me, is a big task. The attention span should be prolonged in some way or another, because I do find myself in a situation where pages of text have gone by and all I remember is the headline. Of course a good way of addressing the issue would be by printing out the pages, but the cost of printing paper would be enormous. So this is a task that I have to take a look at and hopefully solve, in order to successfully increase the efficiency of the text based information-obtaining tasks.

One thought on “IFI7144 – task 13

  1. Fantastic site. Lots of helpful information here. I am
    sending it to a few pals ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thanks on your sweat!

Leave a Reply

